The Magic Of The Principality Of Asturias

The magic of the Principality of Asturias

The Principality of Asturias is a beautiful autonomous community that is located in the north of Spain. It receives the name of Principality for historical reasons, since the heir to the Spanish crown is called with the noble title “Prince of Asturias”. The rich historical legacy of this community blends with its beautiful natural landscapes, that is why today we invite you to discover with us the magic of the Principality of Asturias .

History through the Principality of Asturias

1. Oviedo

Oviedo is the capital of the Principality of Asturias and one of the most historically rich cities in Spain. Historians claim that its origin dates back to the High Middle Ages (8th century), or even earlier. It is for this and many other reasons that Oviedo is a true paradise, especially for all those who love history.

Oviedo in the Principality of Asturias
Oviedo – jorisvo /

There are many buildings, museums, monuments and squares that Oviedo has, so it can be particularly difficult to know everything in one trip. It is for that reason that we bring you some of the essential places that you cannot miss in this incredible city.

  • Construction of the Cathedral of San Salvador de Oviedo : This imposing Gothic-style cathedral began to be built at the end of the 13th century, although its construction would not finish completely until the 16th century.
  • Santa María del Naranco : this palace was originally the Aula Regia of the palace complex that King Ramiro I ordered to be built. The work, in the Ramirense style, was completed in 842. Historians believe that it was during the 12th century when the palace was transformed into a church.
Santa María del Naranco in the Principality of Asturias
Santa Maria del Naranco – KarSol
  • Museum of Fine Arts : The Museum of Fine Arts in Oviedo is home to fantastic works whose authors are some of the most famous in the world. Dalí, El Greco, Picasso, Goya and Sorolla are just some of the artists responsible for such splendid works of art.

2. Llanes

Llanes is a beautiful town in the Principality of Asturias where fishing tradition merges with history. To get to know Llanes it is essential to divide the route into four parts: the old town, the port, the Indian part and, of course, the beaches cannot be missed.

Llanes in the Principality of Asturias
Llanes – Marques

The historical case of Llanes has numerous buildings from medieval times. A good example of this are the numerous churches, such as the Capilla de Santa Ana or the Capilla de Santa Elena. You will also be able to visit two splendid palaces that will transport you back in time: the Gaztañaga Palace and the Palace of the Dukes of Estrada.

The beauty of the Principality of Asturias

3. Ribadesella

Ribadesella offers visitors a fantastic mix between spectacular natural landscapes and history. Its economic activity has always been intimately linked to the sea, so it is ideal to start touring it through the famous Historic Port Route.

Ribadesella in the Principality of Asturias
Ribadesella – alvaher

Another of the most beautiful and romantic places that you can visit in Ribadesella is the wide promenade, where the sea and the river accompany you throughout the journey. You can also delight and enjoy while you get to know other emblematic places such as the Princesa Letizia promenade, the Guia Viewpoint, the Vencedores del Sella promenade, the beautiful Santa Marina beach or the Dinosaur Route at Punta’l Pozu.

In Ribadesella there are many interesting places to visit; however, one of the most important is the Tito Bustillo cave. This impressive cave is considered one of the most important cave complexes of Palaeolithic art worldwide, not in vain was it declared by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

4. Covadonga

This parish of the Principality of Asturias is absolutely fascinating, especially since it includes the Royal site of Covadonga with its respective sanctuary. Likewise, it is also part of the Picos de Europa National Park.

Sanctuary of Covadonga in Asturias
Covadonga – Marques

The Royal site of Covadonga has the most visited set of sanctuaries in Asturias. Some of the temples that you can visit are: the Santa Cueva de Covadonga, the Monastery of San Pedro and the Basilica of Santa María la Real de Covadonga.

The Principality of Asturias is one of those places that simply has it all. Breathtaking landscapes, rich history, beautiful towns and communities, culture and much more. Definitely the Principality of Asturias is a region with a lot of magic. Do you know it?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button